Modme Forums

Is there a complete 0 to 1 scripting doc or tutorial?

Game Modding | Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 | Scripting

ModmeBot:

Thread By: FrankXu225
Hi guys! I'm a newbie to BO3 mod tool and I haven't touch Radiant or GSC before. I have some experiences with C#(unity), LUA (LOVE2D) scripting. But when I'm trying to learn GSC in BO3, I'm kinda blocked and confused. I watched many scripting tutorials on YouTube from JBird, Uptown and many other awesome YouTubers. But most of those tutorials were using a pre-made prefab/scripts to achieve things. They didn't explain how each line work and why. Thus it's really hard for me to guess all the APIs and how to use them. Is there any doc, wiki or tutorial series teaching people how to do GSC from 0 to 1? Like write the first "hello-world" script then later use a trigger to start a lock-down zombie event?

I'm trying to do the similar event from Shaow of Evil: after the player using a trigger, all doors lock and spawn ghost wizards. After the player kills all wizards, all doors unlock. Right now I can think the logic of this event, but I don't know how to use GSC and Radiant to implement my logic. And I don't know how to use triggers to spawn enemies. Or how to add those wizards into my level. So if you guys can help me out, you are much appreciated. :D

Anyway, BO3 Mod tools with GSC looks really powerful. To me it looks like a simplified unity, if there is a complete scripting tool, I'm pretty sure it will be really helpful!

Thank you all in advance!

ModmeBot:

Reply By: Wild
Nate Smith wrote up a good beginner tutorial on his website.

You can find it here: http://natesmithzombies.com/wiki.html

I don't know how much it will help you with what you're trying to do but at least it gives you a better understanding of it I'd assume.

ModmeBot:

Reply By: Scorpiolo
My best advice would be to read the treyarch scripts and those created by people like NateSmithZombies, it will give you a better understanding gradually