Modme Forums

New to scripting, need help!

Game Modding | Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 | Scripting

ModmeBot:

Thread By: Wild
Hello, over the past few days I have been learning how to script. I successfully made a script that added little credits in the bottom corner of the screen. I decided to test myself and try and put together something a bit more difficult. I am trying to create a script that allows me to shoot an object, and in return I would get Jugg. Again I am new to scripting and I am just trying to learn so please be nice lol.

Basically since I am trying to learn I don't need people to actually make the script the for me, rather I would like them to help explain to me what I did wrong and what needs to be changed. If it not a problem it would be great if you guys could explain why what I have is wrong and why the other ways are correct. I am not trying to make this script to actually use, it's just simply to help me learn and understand how to script so again, I am looking for explanations, not someone to make a script.

Here is what I did.

1) First I added "#insert scripts\zm\_zm_perks.gsh;" with the other #using lines of text at the top of my mapname.gsc.

2) Underneath "zm_usermap::main();" I added "level shoot_for_jugg();"

3) Finally, this is the script I wrote at the bottom of my mapname.gsc:

function shoot_for_jugg()
{

trigs = GetEntArray( "trig_for_jugg", "targetname" );
	foreach( trig in trigs )
		trig thread trig_shot();

}

function trig_shot()
{

self waittill( "trigger", player );
	player PlayLocalSound( "zmb_cha_ching" ); //I don't know the alias name for any other sounds so is simply a placeholder
	self delete_model();

}

function delete_model()
{

bears = GetEntArray( "give_jug_model", "targetname" );
	foreach( bear in bears )
		bear delete();

thread give_jugg();

}

function give_jugg()
{

players = GetPlayers();
	foreach( player in players )
	{
		perk = GetPerks( "PERK_JUGGERNOG" );
		player GivePerks( perk );
	}

}